The Sweetness of God’s Word

Psalm 19:9-11: “The fear of the Lord is clean, enduring for ever: the judgments of the Lord are true and righteous altogether. More to be desired are they than gold, yea, than much fine gold: sweeter also than honey and the honeycomb. Moreover by them is thy servant warned: and in keeping of them there is great reward.”

Psalm 119:103: “How sweet are thy words unto my taste! Yea, sweeter than honey to my mouth!”

Proverbs 24:13-14: “My son, eat thou honey, because it is good; and the honeycomb, which is sweet to thy taste: So shall the knowledge of wisdom be unto thy soul: when thou hast found it, then there shall be a reward, and thy expectation shall not be cut off.”

I love sweets. Ice cream, chocolate, just about any form will do. Of course, it’s best to eat them in moderation. However, there is something sweet that I can safely consume, and the more the better! God’s Word is described as being sweeter and more satisfying than any dessert could be. And if I will believe this is true, and seek to know His Word and gain wisdom from it, then He promises that, not only will my soul be satisfied, but also I will be rewarded and blessed – with joy, fruitfulness and many good things. My hope is that I would always devour God’s Word and hunger for His presence so I can grow in godliness and, by His strength, live a life that demonstrates how wonderful He is and how good it is to trust Him!

One thought on “The Sweetness of God’s Word

  1. I love that throughout God’s Word, things He wants us to know and believe are so often repeated in different places and in different forms. Our sermon yesterday was on “These three things, faith, hope and charity. And that is spoken of in many places in His Word. The greatest of these is Love, and how sweet is that. Love you Mel.

Leave a Reply

