Lip Smackin’ Lip Gloss

I’ve had supplies for making homemade lip balm for more months than I’d care to admit, but I finally got around to it today! I’m a big fan of lip gloss. I have to have some type of lip product with me at all times. Otherwise, my heart rate goes up and I can’t think straight. Okay, maybe not that bad, but I really don’t like to be without it! So, I thought it would be fun to try making my own.

Here are the materials I used:

glass measuring cup – not one you use for cooking 🙂

1/2 cup extra virgin coconut oil

1/4 cup grated beeswax or beeswax pellets

1 tsp vitamin E oil

1/4 tsp vanilla essential oil

1/4 tsp raspberry candy flavoring

lip gloss containers

This website sells containers in smaller quantities: http://www.thesage.com/catalog/LipBalmContainers.html

I ordered the 10 mL jars – super fun!

A 2 to 1 ratio for coconut oil to beeswax was recommended; however, I was guessing on the rest of the amounts. But they seemed to work. I bought a block of natural beeswax at Hobby Lobby, so I had to grate it by hand. Beeswax pellets would be much easier. For the essential oils and flavorings, you can certainly get creative!

STA72764

To begin, add the beeswax and vitamin E oil to the coconut oil in your glass measuring cup. Heat this in the microwave or on the stove top by placing it in a pan of shallow water and heating it until mixed, stirring a few times.

Next, add the essential oil and candy flavoring and stir until combined. Then, pour the mixture into the lip gloss containers, and it will solidify as it cools.

STA72770

Now, I can keep lip gloss in every room!

3 thoughts on “Lip Smackin’ Lip Gloss

  1. Lovely idea! Christmas ideas…hmmm thanks Mel! Love ya! Thank you for your inspiration. I need some more clear the clutter ideas.

  2. Too much work for a grandma, but I think you are so smart and capable. Keep experimenting, I know you can make or do anything you set your mind to. Love you sweetie.

Leave a Reply

