When Disappointment Comes

Having been pretty confident that the Denver Broncos were going to win the Super Bowl, it was more than a little hard to watch them play the way they did in that game. Ugh. It’s fun to be a fan when things are going great. It’s not fun when things are going down the tubes.

Same with life. It’s easy to smile and feel happy when things are going great. It’s not as easy to keep smiling when disappointment comes and life is hard. But when things don’t go the way I want, it always reminds me of what is most important. And it always helps me grow.

In Revelation chapter 3, the Lord gives a strong rebuke to the church of Laodicea. In verses 15-17 He says “I know thy works, that thou art neither cold nor hot: I would thou were cold or hot. So then because thou art lukewarm, and neither cold nor hot, I will spew thee out of my mouth. Because thou sayest, ‘I am rich, and increased with goods, and have need of nothing;’ and knowest not that thou art wretched, and miserable, and poor, and blind, and naked.”

I don’t want my Lord to say this of me! And if disappointments in life can be used by Him to keep me humble and to keep me aware of my need of Him so that I will keep from being lukewarm in my faith, then I will “rejoice in my sufferings” (Colossians 1:24). I can rejoice as Paul did, knowing that, if I allow Him to, God will use these things for my benefit and His glory.

When disappointments come, including those far beyond the loss of a football game, I may grieve, but I can also thank God for them and have joy in the midst of them, because I know they will serve a very important purpose. Praise God!

2 thoughts on “When Disappointment Comes

  1. Romans 8:28 And we know that in all things, God works for the good of those who love Him, who have been called according to His purpose. When i moved back to Iowa, not knowing where or how I would live. God in His mercy provided so much more for me than I expected, or deserved. I have not only been blessed here, but have been given the gift of being allowed to bless others. God is so good. And He has a plan for us, to prosper us and bring joy to our lives. Love your sharing Melanie.

Leave a Reply

