Everlasting Strength

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on Thee: because he trusteth in Thee. Trust ye in the Lord forever: for in the Lord Jehovah is everlasting strength” (Isaiah 26:3-4).

I felt God remind me of this passage this week. Recently I’ve been focusing on certain goals in my life and have been working to accomplish them – nothing wrong with that. Yet I was struggling with weariness and fear, feeling defeated, and lacking joy and peace. I didn’t understand why, especially since I was happy I was working on these things. As I brought all this before the Lord, He showed me that I was battling these things because I wasn’t truly putting my trust in Him and Him alone. Instead, I was putting my trust in the things I was trying to accomplish. The proof? I realized my peace and joy had become tied to these areas instead of God. And even though things were going well, I still felt a lack of peace and joy. Because any time we place our hope and trust in something besides God, even good things, they are bound to leave us less than satisfied.

It is only when my mind is “stayed” and fixed on Christ that I will have perfect peace. Nothing else provides true peace. And then His Word says to trust in Him, for in Him is everlasting strength. Strength that doesn’t fade or run out. And through Christ’s death and resurrection, God has made His everlasting strength available to us! 2 Peter 1:3-4 says “His divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him that hath called us to glory and virtue: Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature”.

So, if we will believe what His Word promises, we can be partakers of His divine nature. If He has everlasting strength as Isaiah 26 says, then we have access to everlasting strength. And His perfect peace can become our perfect peace. These aren’t things you get one time, and then you’re good to go. In John 15:5, Jesus says if we abide in Him, we will bear much fruit. We have to abide with Him! And, when I realize I’ve stopped abiding and have put my trust in other things, I need to come back to Him, and He will give me what I need – His peace, His joy, His everlasting strength. Not once has He failed to do that for me when I turn to Him.

May we put our trust in Christ and Christ alone!

Leave a Reply

