Homemade Pumpkin Purée

Pumpkin is one of the reasons I love fall! Decorating with pumpkins, ordering hot drinks flavored with pumpkin, and of course eating baked goods made with pumpkin. If this also describes you, I encourage you to try making homemade pumpkin purée. It’s so easy, so good for you, and makes you feel so accomplished! My sister made pumpkin bread and pumpkin pie from pumpkins she roasted, and they tasted great. So I found myself inspired. 🙂

I bought two small pumpkins from the grocery store. Aren’t they too cute? I almost feel bad cutting them up. But I will!

IMG_0872[1]

First, cut the top and the bottom off each pumpkin. And preheat the oven to 325.

IMG_0876[1]

Then, cut each pumpkin in half. Next, use a large metal spoon to scoop out the insides. I highly recommend saving them so you can roast the pumpkin seeds!

IMG_0877[1]

IMG_0878[1]

Place pumpkin halves in a large baking dish or on a cookie sheet. My favorite little helper is pretending she is a pumpkin needing roasted. 🙂

IMG_0884[1]

Bake for about 50 minutes or until the skin can be easily pierced with a fork. They’ll look like this:

IMG_0888[1]

Next, use a spoon to scrape out the flesh or a knife to peel off the skin. I chose the spoon technique myself. Place the peeled pumpkin in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth (using a blender may require adding a little water).

IMG_0889[1]

Mine turned out like purée, but sometimes roasted pumpkins can come out really watery. If so, there are two options: place pumpkin purée in a cheesecloth over a bowl and let the water drain out, or spread pumpkin purée in a large baking dish and place in oven at a low temperature for a while to let the water evaporate.

IMG_0890[1]

All right, time to get baking!

One thought on “Homemade Pumpkin Purée

Leave a Reply

