More of God

Recently, I was praying and telling God that I wanted more of Him. And the thought that was impressed upon me was that, to have more of God, I needed to give Him more of myself. I realized I had been thinking of receiving more of God as something totally dependent upon Him. But God wants to give us more of Himself, and so the problem isn’t that He needs to get with it already and give me more of Himself, but that I need to give Him more of me. John the Baptist said “He must increase, but I must decrease” (John 3:30). The first doesn’t happen without the second.

I long to experience God’s presence in an ever-deepening way, and to have the ever-increasing fruit of His Spirit in my life – love, joy, peace, self-control, etc. And to achieve these things, I need to give God more of me.

How is this accomplished? Giving Him my time, for one. He must be my priority. I need to be willing to forego some things in order to spend time talking with Him, studying His Word and sensing His leading. How often earthly and unimportant things fill my mind and life instead of God! I must focus on heavenly things, not on things of this world. “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you” is a great reminder (Matthew 6:33).

Another way we give Him more of ourselves is to relinquish any areas we’ve held back from Him, any areas we’ve been reluctant to obey His Word. I usually don’t have to look very hard to find some area where I’m not completely trusting or obeying Him. Any area where there is a lack of joy, patience, gentleness, and so forth, is an area that isn’t completely full of Him. And every time I choose to submit to Him in faith and obedience, I find greater joy, greater satisfaction, greater peace, and a greater depth in my relationship with Him.

To have more of God, He first needs more of us. He’s already paid the price so that we can have full access to Him and to the storehouses of heaven. We simply have to believe this and to avail ourselves of these things!

2 thoughts on “More of God

  1. Thank you for sharing this Mel, it was something I needed to hear. This is an answer to something I was dealing with right this minute. God answers our needs and prayers in so many different ways. Love you my grand daughter and my sister in Christ.

Leave a Reply

