Redeeming the Time

I don’t know about you, but I’m not always great at using my time wisely. With the start of the new year, that is one of my main goals – to become more diligent and to make better use of my time. God’s Word talks about ‘redeeming the time’. Ephesians 5:15-16 says “See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise, redeeming the time, because the days are evil.” And Colossians 4:5 says “Walk in wisdom toward them that are without, redeeming the time.”

What does it mean to ‘redeem the time’? The Greek word translated as ‘redeeming’ in these verses means “to buy up for one’s use” and “to make wise and sacred use of every opportunity for doing good, so that zeal and well-doing are, as it were, the purchase money by which we make the time our own”.

How often I have wasted time instead of ‘buying it up’ and using it effectively! How often I have let opportunities for doing good pass me by – things that would make my life more productive and things that would bless others. We are called to be “zealous of good works” (Titus 2:14), using our time efficiently instead of frittering it away. In this new year, my desire is to redeem the time. If I am willing to obey His Word and step out in faith, God will give me what I need to perform His will. He will bless my efforts as I remain zealous of good works. I will be amazed at how much I accomplish, and the abundance of good fruit that comes as a result. And it will then overflow, blessing the lives of others and putting a smile on God’s face – the ultimate goals of my life.

I encourage you to consider how you can be better at redeeming the time!

 

One thought on “Redeeming the Time

Leave a Reply

