The one who steals our joy

In  John 10:10 Jesus says “The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.”

The devil never stops, and one of his tactics is that he tries to steal my joy. I so often find myself struggling to walk in joy. Joy is a fruit of the Holy Spirit, so by seeking God’s face consistently, I will find myself full of His life and therefore full of joy. But it’s so easy to let some minor thing annoy or worry me, and if I don’t recognize this as a point of attack, I’ll soon be consumed by it. This just happened to me this morning. I found myself becoming overwhelmed and distracted by something that was not even a real issue – nothing that I needed to repent of, nothing that truly needed to change. But I couldn’t get past it, and instead of focusing on God, I found myself unable to stop thinking about this “issue.” And my joy was soon replaced with fretting and unprofitable thoughts.

I am thankful I’m getting better at stopping in these moments and realizing what is going on. When God is the one bringing conviction, He always brings hope and direction with it. He shows me what’s wrong and what I need to do. When it’s the devil bringing something to my attention, I just feel overwhelmed and confused. It steals my joy and brings discouragement and despair.

I’m so thankful Jesus died to give us victory, freedom and power over our thoughts and emotions. Through the enabling power of God’s Spirit, I don’t have to let the enemy steal my joy! As soon as I recognized the lie I was believing and that I didn’t have to give into it, the enemy began to lose this battle. I simply looked to God and asked Him to help me believe the truth and focus on Him. And before I knew it, peace and joy returned and I was no longer worried about that non-issue. Thank You, Lord! Now, on with life and life more abundant!

 

One thought on “The one who steals our joy

Leave a Reply

