Little Foxes

Song of Solomon 2:15 says “Take us the foxes, the little foxes, that spoil the vines: for our vines have tender grapes.”

This is what God has been bringing my attention to lately – all the ‘little foxes’ of compromise and disobedience that I’ve been ignoring. Are they things God has shown me before and convicted me of before? I’m sorry to say, the answer is yes. But back when He nudged my heart, I chose not to listen. I dismissed that gentle conviction, justifying my actions and attitudes and casually moving on. These things weren’t important to me. I didn’t want to yield these things, so I was unwilling to listen when God told me they were important to Him.

But it’s the areas that I want to dismiss as insignificant that are keeping me from an abundant life. Small areas of stubbornness, of dishonesty, of laziness, of bitterness. It’s so tempting to justify these things and ignore them. But if we compromise in little areas, it’s only a matter of time before we do it in bigger areas. David started out compromising by staying home when men go to war. No big deal, right? But that ‘small’ thing led to him committing adultery and murder.  May we heed this warning!

Matthew 25:21 says: “His lord said unto him, Well done, thou good and faithful servant: thou hast been faithful over a few things, I will make thee ruler over many things: enter thou into the joy of thy lord.” That’s what I want God to say to me, and that means I need to be faithful and obedient in the little things. He’s given us “all things that pertain unto life and godliness” if we will only refuse to settle for less!

Leave a Reply

