Love the Lord

“And thou shalt love the Lord thy God with all thy heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment.”
– Mark 12:30

Jesus said this is the first commandment. But how often is it our top priority? It’s so easy to put our heart and mind and strength into other things rather than seeking to love God well. But I find the greatest satisfaction when I do invest in my relationship with Him. What does that look like? Well, I think it looks similar to how I would invest in my marriage relationship if I had a husband.

If I had a husband and sought to love him well, he would be in my thoughts during the day more than anyone else. I would show him the utmost respect, honor and appreciation. I would be honest with him and would trust him. I would always be excited to talk with him, to tell him about my day, to seek his thoughts on things, to just enjoy being with him, and of course to laugh with him! I would tell him all the time how much I love him, how thankful I am that he’s mine. I would be eager to do whatever was needed to serve him and to bless him. It would be my goal to put a smile on his face every day and to make him feel like the most blessed man on the planet to have chosen me.

Since God chose marriage as one of the greatest pictures of our relationship with Him, it seems that ways we can love our spouse well parallel how we can love God well. This type of relationship with God may seem implausible, but the more I get to know Him, the more I fall in love with Him. And the more this type of relationship develops between us because He is a wonderful Heavenly Bridegroom! I wouldn’t trade it for anything, and I look forward to spending eternity with Him!

2 thoughts on “Love the Lord

  1. I love you so much Melanie Lynn, you touch my heart with your wisdom, kindness, gentleness and so much more. My beautiful grand daughter, you are so special, this writing brought tears to my eyes. So proud of you, my love.

Leave a Reply

